Stay At Home Day

Which is not a bad thing.  I have lots to do….I made a list!

I called the city yesterday for the final inspection of the garage….you leave a message with your permit number, address and a phone number.  If you call before 3PM, I called before noon, the inspection SHOULD happen the next day.  Good, right?  Except the message tells you that they do NOT confirm it.  So, does that mean the guy is going to appear sometime today?  I’m presuming so, but don’t know for sure.  If he doesn’t show up I guess I just call the planning department.  So unless he shows up bright and early this morning, I’m home for the day.

The truck is running….hooray!  The battery is charged and it’s ready to go.  If it’s nice outside….not raining and the fog clears up….I have some LOTS of stuff to get rid of under the deck and in the backyard….does this construction debris never go away??  I swear it multiplies back there.

I’ll have to get insurance on it….maybe just a for a month right now….and take it through a car wash.  It is absolutely filthy and I’m be too embarrassed to even take it to the dump looking like it does.

In a perfect world, I’d be happily (?) doing laundry or some such domestic type job and Ken would be dealing with this inspector and all the crap in the backyard….but that’s not how it is.  Sometimes when I look around out there, I am just overwhelmed by it all.  All I can do, by myself,  is chip away at the mess little by little.  I’m good with that as long as I see some progress.  That has been one of the hardest things to deal with…..the speed at which anything gets done…..it’s such a slow pace, sometimes I feel like I’m going backwards.

Since I can’t go anywhere today to get the truck insured and washed, at least until the inspector shows up, if he does….I can get stuff ready to load onto the truck.  I’ll get my “saws all” out and hack away at the pieces that are too long.  I really like that tool.  It’s easy to use because it’s not too heavy or big and scary like the other saws.

Yesterday I was dressed and all ready to go somewhere by 9:30!  Today it’ll be even earlier, just in case he arrives this morning.

My friends N & S are busy packing up their house for their move at the end of the month.  I’m really going to miss them…..he’s kind of my “guy thing/man job” buddy around here and she’s my wine buddy.  I offered to help with the packing but I know that’s a hard thing for someone else to do, the best I can offer them is a few dinners so they have one less thing to worry about.  Last night is was a big pot of stew!  I hadn’t made one for eons.  It was good, hardy and warming…..with lots of buns to soak up the gravy….and a glass or two of nice red wine…definitely not a low cal dinner.

L.

Leave a comment