Has Spring Arrived?

We’re supposed to have a couple of nice days this week…..it’s a start!!  So much more energy when the weather cooperates.

Sunday was lovely…..yesterday it rained and ball was cancelled (fields like swamps!)….this morning there is not a cloud in the sky!  Just bizarre but I’m not going to complain.

And not playing ball yesterday was probably not a bad thing since I have somehow managed to injure my knee……a “sports injury” sounds so much better than doing something stupid and since it must have happened at the gym….I have no idea how I did it though.  I was feeling quite energetic on Friday at the gym….even ran a little on the treadmill.  Maybe that was it but it didn’t bother me until the next morning.  My daughter and I googled it and decided I have strained my MCL.  If our diagnosis is right it just needs a bit of rest, advil, keeping it up and some occasional icing.  It’s fine in the morning but by evening going up and down the steps is a bit of a chore.  I’ll see how it feels the rest of the week if not better I might have to break down and make a Drs appointment.  I cannot have a bad knee for my trip!

Which is now less than a month away.  I can’t believe it….time has just flown along.  I’m done shopping…..I really am.  There is absolutely nothing else that I NEED.  Even that elusive jacket.  I’ve got one that will do if it does rain….it’s easy to pack too so will just take it.  Goodness knows I don’t need anymore shoes and I have enough new tee shirts to last until next year.  Now I just have to pack.  I’ve kept my new stuff in a bag so I don’t wear any of it.  One night next week I’ll get everything laid out on the bed to do a final check but I really couldn’t possibly need anything else…..at least I don’t think I could.

Two other potential trips to think about……both really good deals.  One is in the late fall to Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia (Angor Wat!!) the other is in Jan or Feb next year to India (Taj Mahal!!).    Both sound wonderful.  I could almost do both but that might use up my trip fund for next year…..you have to think carefully about these things once you retire!

I have a big to do list for this week…..my friends from Sechelt are coming over this weekend (thank goodness it was cleaning lady week!!).  Not that everything is that bad around here but all these little outdoor type projects that you just can’t do in the rain….I love to get that deck all ready for summer but still a bit too early to do the power washing (because it WILL still rain….).  I have a post and beam that needs to be painted first anyway and maybe, just maybe, with a couple of nice days in store for us I’ll get that done.  Before I can do that I have to take down the old heater that we have out there…..it packed it in last year and yes it’s still hanging there because it’s one of those “not my jobs” thing but then who else will do it?  I tend to put those types of jobs off .  It’s not complicated but requires a ladder or stool, taking screws out and all that kind of stuff….I’ll give it a shot this week.

L.

Leave a Reply

