Shoes!!

I must stop this!!

There is a fantastic shoe store not far from my house (too bad!!).  They carry big variety of the top lines/brands….and they are NOT cheap!  But quality over quantity, right?

I had tried to go last week one day but just ran out of time…and then again on the weekend but got caught up doing whatever so finally on Tuesday after work I just went and had a look.  The early in the year you can get there the better because they have lots of stock in and lots of different styles to chose from.  Over the last few years I’ve bought a couple pairs of shoes there.  The lady that runs the store is lovely too, which helps a lot.

I found quite a few that I liked so narrowed it down 3 pair (comfort, practicality, price!) and finally to this pair.

IMG_1644

They are comfortable and sort of stylish….can wear with jeans, skirts, capris etc.  Wasn’t too keen on the colour….sort of reddish….but after much discussion with other customers I made my decision.

That “quick” trip should have taken an 1/2 hour but noooooo…..I was in there for over an hour!  Me and 4 other customers……one of whom mentioned that she was going to Italy and needed some comfy walking shoes…..then another one said “I’m going to Italy too”.  So of course then I said “Me too”!  The 3rd lady said she’d just come back!!  Then the last customer said “OMG, I’m going to Italy too”!!  We then ended up chatting about our trips, where we were going, where we’d been etc. etc.  That last lady was doing the same kind of bike tour that Brenda and I doing in France but in Tuscany!  That was fun to chat about.  One of the others that was going had never been so everyone jumped on that to give her lots of advice…..her biggest concern besides comfy shoes was what kind of bag to take…..I showed her my little one and she just laughed and said absolutely impossible to survive with a weeny purse!!  We laughed and had such a good time, the sales lady said we should all come back after and have a “wine and shoe party”.  I think that would be fun…..but god knows I DO NOT NEED MORE SHOES!!

So yesterday the bike ride just didn’t pan out…..too bloody cold.  It’s the wind that is the killer especially when you’re whipping along on a bike!  Brenda and I decided to just bundle up and go for a walk…..with a quick stop at that shoe store (cuz Brenda thought she’d like to have a look….) en route.  I bought another pair!!

IMG_1645

There was no one else in the store so no big Italy trip discussions this time 😦 .

The weather is crazy here…..one minute warm and sunny, the next cold and windy with a bit of rain thrown in here and there.  You have no idea what to wear when you go out…..layers of clothes, that’s about all you can do.

After dinner I went up the hospital to see my ex-SIL.  She’s in again because of a lung infection and dehydration.  She’ll be in for a few more days until they do bone and CT scans.  She has decided to stop treatment…..at least for now.  She has a brand new baby grandson in Alberta that she desperately wants to see.  But until she’s in a bit better shape she can’t travel.  The plan is that she’ll move to Calgary to be with her girls.  They both have little ones now so can’t just hop on a plane each time she has a set back.  The Dr will transfer all her records to the cancer centre there.  She’ll be in good hands.  This time she’ll take only clothes and personal stuff….not the big move they’d talked about last year.  I think that’s the best decision.  Hopefully in the next month or so she recovers enough to do that.  She is really quite a fighter and trooper….credit where it’s due!  I’m not sure I could handle this as well as she is.  They did tell her that she’s not ready for hospice, which gives her more hope and you never know maybe in Alberta there is still some drug that she hasn’t had that will keep everything stable for a bit longer.

Today is another “in” day……after I go to the gym.  It’s semi-sunny so that gives me lots of energy to do stuff.  I have a pile of clothes on the bed in the spare room to go off to Value Village or somewhere so I need to get them packed up.  Cleaning closets makes me feel good…..and all those empty hangers such a sense of accomplishment.  Maybe I’ll tackle the hall closet later…..

L.

Leave a comment