Work Today

For a few hours and then it’s home to, once and for all, get Christmas put away….really!!

I had planned on doing that after I got home from lunch….and I did get the containers out but that was as far as I got.  I’m just thankful I didn’t put up more stuff because I was overwhelmed just looking at the few things I did have up….so instead I made tea and decided to spend the afternoon reading my book.  Not something I do very often but it just seemed like a good thing to do.

However……the book is awful!!  I posted about it here  https://lindarblog.wordpress.com/2016/12/16/   Dancing Light: The Spiritual Side of Being Through the Eyes of a Modern Yoga Master  https://www.amazon.com/Dancing-Light-Spiritual-Through-Modern-ebook/dp/B0164OU6VI   It’s about this woman https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tao_Porchon-Lynch  I’m probably not the best person in the work to critique someone’s writing but OMG she is so full of herself it’s terrible.  She’s 97 or 98 and has had an amazing life……the potential to be a good read.  She didn’t write it by herself so whoever helped her or her publishers should have told her that she sounds ridiculous through most of it…….one example was that Elizabeth Taylor was jealous of her so only her back could be shown in some movie they were in……all the men loved her but they only wanted one thing.   Another was predicting a big earthquake in California because she had a headache (???)…..”oh Tao you are so smart”.  Getting a big contract for some company with the French government because she was such a good conversationalist…..and on it goes.  She tells how everyone told her how beautiful and smart she was….anyway, do not waste your time and money on this book!!

If I start a book I’ll usually finish it…..it’s got to be pretty crappy for me not too.  I’m about half way through this one and I think it might be time to just put it away.  I really thought it would have been written a heck of a lot better and gone into a little bit more about her spiritual life, no so….oh well.  I have another book about garbage!!  How interesting does that sound??  But it’s about the big business that it’s become around the world…..what was one day scavenging through landfills for poor people finding whatever usable stuff they could to it becoming a structured, sometimes cutthroat, multi-million dollar business!  I also have a Noam Chomsky book, which might be a little too much heavy reading right now….

L.

Leave a Reply

