Not The Quiet Week I’d Planned!!

FOR WHATEVER REASON THIS DID NOT POST YESTERDAY!!!  SO THERE ARE TWO FOR TODAY!!

Work again…..but in the office this time.  Some year end catch up to be done….most of it is just data entry type stuff so will hopefully get done quickly.  A few hours yesterday, after my dentist appointment, and a few more hours today.  I don’t think I’ll be able to go in tomorrow because I have to get my house cleaned for the neighbourhood party in the evening.

My teeth are falling apart!!!  I need not just one crown but three of them!  I’m pretty sure I won’t be able to get in until after Christmas to get them done so I hope no more break!

The dentist is very tactful…..apparently “experienced gums” shrink a little.  I’ve always had terrible teeth, even as a kid I don’t think I ever had a check up that didn’t result in at least one filling being required.  My whole mouth is fillings!!

Today my tongue is sore from feeling all that space between my teeth after they did the cleaning/scaling/polishing and whatever else happened in there.  X-rays are the worst…..I’m a gagger so she has about 5 seconds before I have to push that thing out of my mouth.  A new thing, which she tried on me…and it seemed to help a little…..is salt!  Not sure how or why it works but putting a little bit of salt on the inside cheek bought her another 5 seconds.

They suggested that I come back every 3 months now for cleaning etc. instead of the usual twice a year…..better to be safe than sorry…… or toothless I guess.

After work today I’ll make all my appies for the party tomorrow night.  Just a couple of simple things using frozen puff pastry, which is a staple in my freezer at all times.  Truffle cheese (leftover from the grilled cheeses the other night) and mushroom turnovers or empanada type things and crab and shrimp ones.  I can get them all made and baked tonight then just have to warm them up tomorrow before serving.  If I’m really organized and have enough pastry I can even make some extras to throw in the freezer for another day.

Brenda and I had a great dinner…..homemade green pea soup, gourmet grilled cheese sandwiches and one of the bottles of Chateauneuf de Pape from my stash that Ken had started buying me each year.  I thought it a good night to crack one of those open.  She enjoys and appreciates good wine and since we were talking about our trip next spring, what better way to celebrate it than with a good bottle of French wine.  It’s a 2004 that I’ve had for about 7 years…..I think it was cellared long enough!  And it went really good with the soup and sandwiches!!

img_1424

The first Christmas without Ken the kids bought me a bottle to try to keep the tradition going….but it just wasn’t the same.  I appreciated that they did that though.  Now I need to use these wines…..I think there are 4 left.  My collection didn’t get too big but it’s all nice wine that should be drank with good friends.  I have another 2004 that is an Italian reserva which I’ll share with the others before we head off on our trip….

The livingroom is as decorated as it’s going to get.  I will need to pick up a few more candles for the fireplace…..those are on a big candle holder in lieu of putting a real fire in there….it looks nice, smells nicer and doesn’t leave a bit mess.

 

L.

 

Leave a Reply

