Getting Into The Christmas Spirit

I think…..decorations are up in all the stores, Christmas songs on the radio, all the flyers with the “super sales”….how can you not get into it?

My tree will go up tomorrow, maybe tonight if I’m organized enough.  And for the first time in about 3 years I’m going to send out Christmas cards.  The last couple of years I did do a few for the older aunties and other relatives but it was very hard to just put my name on them….this year I think I can do it.

I’m even in the mood to shop…..just a little though.  It’s not one of my fav things to do anymore.  I used to love it…..would get it all done in one or two “power shopping” outings.  Inevitably there is always one or two last minute things but I could handle that.  Christmas shopping has just not been high on my list of things to do.  Over the years we’ve usually bought the kids one major item and then given them money…..they can always use that.  My son and his wife use it to buy passes for the rec centre, which helps with the little ones swimming lessons and whatever other activities they do there.  Some of it goes toward registration for lacrosse and soccer too otherwise they wouldn’t be able to afford it.

The little ones aren’t getting too much because they already have way too many toys.  One thing each and then their stockings, which themselves cost a small fortune to fill even with the fun, little junky things that they like.

Today is babysitting day, not because my DIL is back to work but because of a Drs appointment this afternoon.  I’ll pick up Kallie from preschool and then head over.    The house was looking much better last week so I can only hope that gave them a bit of a head start or at least some incentive to keep clean and tidy what was last week.  We will see!!

I’ve invited my friend Brenda to the neighbourhood Christmas party.  She doesn’t think she’ll come….it’s hard to get into the “spirit” when you’ve just lost your husband a month ago…….I definitely understand that!  I’ll talk to her again in a couple of days. I hope she does come, even for just a little while.  I thought it might be one of those “icebreaker” things to get her out and socializing with a bigger group of people.  That first time is so hard but then once you’ve done that, it makes it so much easier the next time and we know that there are a lot of opportunities to visit and socialize around this time of year.

Rained most of the day yesterday, today is so far OK but definitely chillier…at least it’s not raining!

L.

Leave a Reply

