Free Day!

I can do anything I want today!   I have big plans but we’ll see how that all works out.

So far the only thing I have done is make a dentist appointment…..yuck.  But it’s been a long time since I’ve been and better to get it over and done with sooner than later.  I broke a tooth quite awhile ago….and then another.  My mouth is falling apart.  I guess they’re not really broken teeth…..the old fillings seem to be giving out and what’s left of those filled teeth are just falling apart.  I’m sure I’ll need a crown or two so I’m very thankful I still have a pretty good dental plan.

Yesterday was another good “driver” day.  I like this run that I’m being trained on…..you only pick up stuff as opposed to delivering parts.  Other than the 5 gallon drums of oil or some fluid or another most of it isn’t heavy lifting, which is a good thing.

One of the places that we head to 3 times a day is the main supply warehouse…..which is massive.  In their loading bay they’re put in big planters where through the summer months little gardens are planted.  One was entirely strawberries!  What a great idea for their employees that live in apartments or wherever they can’t have their own little gardens.  The growing season is over of course so only remnants are left of what they had during the summer.

15267811_10155520442549167_3113859760429478934_n

Lots of herbs, beets, brussel sprouts, onions, garlic, lettuce, a few different kinds of tomatoes, chard of some sort and one whole bin just for strawberries. What a great idea!

It didn’t rain during the day yesterday, which was a nice treat especially since I was doing all that driving, but it was cold!  Not freezing cold but damp cold.  Since it had finally cleared up somewhat you could see some fresh snow on the top of the local mountains.  Lots of snow on the bigger ones…..ski season has started.  I’m sure lots of people are happy about that!

I really have to start thinking about doing some Christmas shopping…..I keep saying that but don’t do anything about it!  Maybe this afternoon……we’ll see.

It’s been over two years now…..this will be my 3rd Christmas without Ken.  I love Christmas, I really do but it’s still a little bit tough at this time of year.  I guess it’s just one of those things that takes time….a little more time than usual.  I’ve got the neighbourhood Christmas party coming up next week so lots of plans for that.  The tree has to go up, maybe Thursday I’ll do that……psych myself up for all the cursing and swearing that goes along with it….those damn lights that cause me grief every year.  But once it’s up, I love it.  All the ornaments from those great vacations and the ones from the kids…..they all make me happy and bring back good memories.  Then I’ll decorate the mantel……I bought a new thing to put on it this year…..keeping it simple with the garland and a couple of candle holders.  I think that looks better and makes for way less stuff to take down at the end of the season.  Ok….this is good, now I’m really looking forward to doing this!!

L.

Leave a Reply

