Happy Birthday to My Mom…

She would have been 88 today.  I still find it hard to believe that she’s been gone 9 years.

My Mom had Alzheimers.  Such a devastating disease.  She was such a fun, full of life person and to watch that life get sucked out of her over the years was a very hard thing.  She went through the many different stages of it…….anxiety, denial, anger, paranoia and aggressiveness….especially with my Dad.  That said, once she’d gone through all those she was happy…..always a smile, laughed at everything and anything whether she understood what people were saying or not.  She enjoyed music of any kind….a good old Frank Sinatra or Dean Martin (her fav!) tune would get her tapping her foot and singing along if she could.

I’m not surer what is worse….to be so totally oblivious to your surroundings and the people around you but still be happy or to have all your marbles and be physically incapable of doing the things you like because you’ve lost your strength, various other ailments that restrict your movement or the worst thing ever….losing your eye sight.

Enough sadness….although definitely great memories.  These last couple of days have left me in one of those funky moods.  I’m just so grateful for all that I have and need to remember that!!

It’s Tuesday so babysitting day.  The plan today is the pot and pan cupboard and I’ll get to see if the new dishes are helping to keep things a little more organized…..

As much as I might complain about doing this, I really enjoy these days with the kids and helping out with whatever I can, even if it’s shortlived…..it makes me feel like I’ve accomplished something.

Must go now and slap/snap myself out of this mood….

L.

2 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to My Mom…

  1. This morning I sat on the deck having my cup of coffee (ok – huddled in a blanket and heavy coat because it was kind of chilly). There was dense fog. I stared into the fog and thought back to the time when I was riding horseback with my dad – got my to get cows, I suppose, and listening to the sound of the horses and my dads voice. It sure brought back memories!

    I, too, miss my Mom and Dad. There are so many things I’d like to ask and talk about (what would my fiercely independent Mom think of Trump???).

    Fall is slowly morphing into winter. I suppose I should make an appointment for my winter tires …..

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • If my Mom was still around I think even I would have to plug my ears if she started talking about Trump!! I’m pretty sure the air would be blue….she despised people like him. Such a time of year for reflection…maybe it’s the cold, or the foggy grey days…..just not my time of year.

Leave a Reply

