A Post Name Change and Game Day!

For April 12, 2015.  It was originally titled “Shopping Bomb :)”.

At the end of each year wordpress (blogging site) sends you some stats.  You never know who specifically read anything but you’re able to see how many views and visits your blog had by post.  It’s very interesting!  One jumped out at me, the Shopping Bomb one.  It had a lot of views and was the one that came up most frequently when someone did and online search….hmmmm.

I guess in this day and age the word bomb is not a good one to use.  So for that reason I’ve changed the name of the post to “Shopping Flop :)”.

In my time it was never a big deal to use that word….lots of things “bombed” back in the day….things I tried to make, parties that were duds, not having a good shopping day, a change at work that didn’t actually work, a matchmaking plan for a friend…..the term was used pretty innocently for stuff that just never quite worked out like it was supposed too.  Today, not so much.  It was just very strange to see that some people, not necessarily anyone actually interested in my blog, were searching online using that word…..a little scary, no?   I truly can’t imagine anyone that does follow it searching for THAT post….reading most of my posts once is more than enough because they just aren’t that exciting.

Today will be a fun day….a game marathon day.  We haven’t done that for years.  Dinner will be Beef Bourguignon.  The best recipe ever is this one http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/fillet-of-beef-bourguignonne-recipe.html  the only thing I don’t put in it is the tomato paste.  I do put in a little more bacon though….because you can never have too much.  It’s an easy dish to make and when dinner time comes along, it’s self-served in a bowl with a toasted piece of French bread and it won’t take up a lot of table space so we won’t have to quite playing.

The game were playing is an adaptation of one called “Stock Ticker”.  http://www.stocktickerclassic.com/  It probably doesn’t sound very exciting to some people, but like I said before, we were kind of a geeky family and games like this were fun for us, even when my brother and I were little.  I’ve always joked that I learned how to count playing Crib and Black Jack!  My brother took the original board game and created a more elaborate version adding more types of stocks.  He made the board, new dice, and all the stock cards (laminated!).  I’ll try to remember to take a picture of it.  My Dad and brother were always very competitive and this game was no exception.  Trying to make their fortunes more often than not would lose it all and have to start all over again…..that meant another $1 into the pot for whoever ended up being the winner at the end of the night.

I love these game days/ nights.  We don’t have them as often as we used to, which is too bad…..I think we’ll have to work on that!!

L.

Leave a Reply

