A Stupid Little Piece of Wood!

By 8:30 I’d already made 2 of the 3 calls I have to make today!  This is really good for me……roofer, alarm company done.  I have been up since 5:30 though……..now it’s the airlines to do seat selection…..again.  I’ve tried for 3 days to get through to them….argh.

Yesterday was a busy day for everyone.  We got a lot accomplished and it was fun!

The kids toys and books are now down to two baskets, which fit very nicely in one of the bookcases.  The rest was either chucked (broken, bits missing etc.) or put into a box to go to the thrift store.

I’ve cleaned out the cabinet in the laundry room and now have a great place to store all my vases and the duvets (in shrink-type bags) and I’ve still got two shelves left!  I’ll have to figure out what to use them for……I’m sure I have something somewhere that would be good to store there.

My son went through the big tool chest, sorted everything out and got rid of all the garbage in it.  Only two of the six drawers have things in them now……screwdrivers and wrenches and the other odd things or two.  In the top drawer was a little piece of wood, which I know he would have chucked, because it looked like a useless little chunk/sliver so why would he think otherwise?  BUT that was the bit that broke off the old….really old….blanket chest that was made by my grandfather, or maybe even his father.  We very likely ruined the chest when we stripped it and restained it years ago but I do know some of those old chests can be worth a fortune.  That little piece came off one of the legs when we were trying to haul the thing up the stairs……it was going to get glued back on….one day.

So now it’s probably in the bottom of that big black garbage bag sitting in the middle of the garage.  Do I go through it looking for this bit of wood or just kiss it goodbye?

I woke up at 5:30 this morning thinking about that little piece of wood!  I should have thought about it yesterday, or the day before, or the day before that……I was quite excited a few weeks ago when I found that little piece.  I did think about taking it upstairs and putting it IN the chest…..I obviously SHOULD have done it!  I had completely forgotten about it until I woke up this morning.  Why that immediately popped into my head, I have no idea, but I was done trying to fall back to sleep after that….and I’m still obsessed about it and know that I can’t just “kiss it goodbye” so will shortly head down and start rooting through that garbage bag.  I know it’s dumb but I can’t help it!

That chest was at my parents house for eons.  I’m not sure exactly how they ended up with it since my grandparents lived back east.  My grandpa did move out west many, many years ago when he was going to marry a lady from around here, which didn’t work out so he didn’t stay too long.  He didn’t move out here lock, stock and barrel but I know he did bring some things…..maybe that chest was one of them.

My Mom had Alzheimers, but functioned at home reasonably well, with the help of my Dad, for many years.  She did do some very strange things though…..like watering the artificial plants some of which sat on top of this chest.  It wasn’t until a few years later, when we were selling their townhouse and getting rid of the furniture, that we discovered this.  Unfortunately the top of the chest, which is oak, took a bit of a beating.  The finish, whatever it might have been, was pretty well gone and what was left was all water stained really badly.  It had also caused the two pieces on the top to warp a little and separate.  I won’t even go into what happened to the stuff that had been stored in it!!  Except a beautiful, or once beautiful, old quilt that had mostly gone moldy and what wasn’t moldy literally fell apart in your hands….what a shame.

the chest.....missing bit is on the very bottom on the righthand leg.

the chest…..missing bit is on the very bottom on the righthand leg.

the missing bit......approximately 2.5 inches tall by 3/4 of an inch wide.....a needle in a haystack!!!

the missing bit……approximately 2.5 inches tall by 3/4 of an inch wide…..a needle in a haystack!!!

I really liked that chest though and could see the potential in it……perfect to hide all the stereo equipment that lived on some very old, sad stereo shelving in our living room.  WE stripped it and re-stained it to match the hardwood floors.  I started doing the stripping but there were so many intricate bits and pieces it was taking forever……Ken couldn’t stand it so as usual he took over.  I can’t say I minded too much because that stripping stuff was terrible to work with…..turned the layers of old stains/paint into an incredibly mucky mess that had to be scrapped.  I got to do the new staining.  Ken put hinges on the two top pieces that had separated so we had access to inside from the top of the chest as well as through the two doors in the front.  It’s pretty spiffy if I do say so myself!

I have a thousand other things I could be doing but won’t rest, or SLEEP, again until I find that stupid little piece of wood, which I’m hoping wasn’t broken up even more…..argh.  It’s not like I’m OCD or anything…..and I’m not really….but every now and again something like this gets stuck in my head and the whole world might just as well come to a halt UNTIL I deal with whatever it is…..

Maybe I’ve been drinking too much coffee!

L.

Leave a Reply

