Now The Tricky Stuff!

Finding siding that will match the old existing stuff!

The old siding is aluminum, 8″ boards/panels or whatever you call them.  Today aluminum costs and arm and leg, 40+ years ago it was cheap and every house seemed to be sided with it.  I have many options now that aren’t aluminum….vinyl, hardieboard, wood….none of which seem to come in the right size, let alone colour.

What to do, what to do!  I’m off to a supply today, with a sample of the old stuff, to see what we can come up with.  To complicate things a little further, we had the house painted a number of years ago.  Back then the options for painting aluminum siding were pretty minimal, so the colour is just a tad bit different, but different enough….and “aged” enough that nothing will match it.

This is a Ken job!  I really don’t like doing this or having to make a decision like this myself but then again……what other choice do I have.  I’m sure there are a million other products and colours and selecting one will be a challenge.  And I really hate the thought of having a mishmash of colours, different siding and different sized siding!  My fall back will be plain old white!  Then next year sometime, budget permitting, I would just have the house painted again so that everything matched.

Rhys will help somewhat with the decision….the best, cheapest product for my money and for his time to put it on……

I really wish someone would just do it for me!

But that’s not how it works, is it?

The painters are supposed to be here today……..it’s early but no sign of them yet!  Electrician tomorrow and then I’ll truly have a working garage……hooray.  And I hope the end of the drywall dust!

Yesterday I got my tetanus/diphtheria shot, along with the first HEP A/B (Twinrix) shot….second one in a month.  Also a supply of dukoral and an antibiotic prescription to fill and take with me, just in case.  In hindsight, I probably should have had all this done last year before my trip to the Middle East and also to Mexico……oh well.  I don’t know where my travels will take me in the future, so it’s a good idea to have all this and it’s done now, so that’s good.

This is definitely me!

This is definitely me!

I have friends coming for dinner tonight……I think I might be a little crazy considering the mess around here and she’s neat freak!  Oh well, she knows me so around here you get what you get, you see what you see and she knows that of course…..luckily she still comes over!  But then again, I always have a supply of wine which, after enough, she doesn’t notice anything…..lol.  I think she may have complimented me one time when she said she wished she could be more like me!  We all have different priorities don’t we?  Hers is getting up in the morning and grabbing the Swiffer to go over her floors, mine is getting that first cup of coffee in me……nothing, absolutely nothing, matter until that happens!

L.

Leave a Reply

