Brrrrr….

It was cold in Toronto!  It was snowing when I arrived on Wednesday but Thursdays was bright and sunny, which was a good trade off for the cold (-17 ish, I think!).   Luckily I didn’t have to spend much time outside.  I’m sure it was a balmy day for them…..

The workshop was a great experience and I’m very glad I had the opportunity to go.  The results were being made public at another conference last night.

I definitely learned a lot.  I’ve often wondered how a Drs mind works…..how can they deal with stuff like this everyday…..how do they remove themselves from everyones illnesses and death?  Most of them take a strictly clinical approach, they still have compassion of course, but they view things from a scientific perspective.  Patients and caregivers priorities are themselves and their loved ones….who cares about science!  We just want those little miracles to happen.  It made me understand things a lot more and as patients or caregivers we have our work cut out for us!  Our voices need to be heard.

If anyone gets the opportunity to participate in a workshop like this I would encourage you too definitely take part.  It was an opportunity for each of us to understand the others wants and needs and to then be able to come to a general consensus through a very democratic process, was awesome.  Medical professionals (Oncs, surgeons, nurses, psychologists etc.) top ten were different from a patients or caregivers but then they look at things very differently than we do and vice versa.  By combining the two I think we came out with the best for everyone.

It was also a great chance to catch up with people that I knew through KCC and also to meet some people from the discussion forums……faces to names!  Those e-friends and family that offer help and encouragement.

I have today off…..thank goodness.  I got home late and was pretty wired from the whole experience, so many thoughts running through my head that I finally had to get up and take a gravol, my best friend when I can’t sleep.

L.

Leave a Reply

