Sunny Saturday

I’m glad the week is ending much better than it started…..

Out for dinner last night with BIL and SIL and then to Home Depot. I needed more foam paint brushes….which so far I have found them the best thing for putting on the stain. I had bought two! But soon realized, after trying to clean them, why they are only .98 each! They both made it through two cleanings before the foam part fell off! I bought six this time…..hopefully that will be enough.

I also talked to them about my nailing dilemma. First the tool man, then the flooring lady……who explained how to do the nailing on the stairs. I have to nail through the top of the boards……which I was not wanting to do as that means I’ll have a little hole to fill. But that seems to be the only way to do it on the stairs. The good thing is that I can just do this with a hammer and finishing nails and one of those pokey things for insetting the nail….I don’t need to get the compressor going. She suggested pre-drilling the holes though as it is possible that the nailing could crack the board. I have a bazillion drill bits…..ones from the size of a doorknob hole down to the size of a sewing needle.

I’m not at that stage yet though…..one more coat of stain on the last 7 noses and then the finishing varathane coats…..so at the rate I’m going, it’ll be next weekend by the time I’m ready to get everything on the stairs for the official dry fitting before I start any gluing or nailing.

I know, how boring eh! TMI DYI info…… unless of course, you are thinking about taking on a project like this…..

The weather is better this morning…..much nicer than it was through the week. The sun is shining and it’s warming up, so this really helps me to feel better and gets me motivated to do the things I need to do.

I’m also going to have to start thinking about getting the deck cleaned off for the winter….ah sigh. The hanging basket is done…..that’s usually a sign that summer is truly over. I’ve got to get the wicker settee inside and move the table and chairs under the covered part….and my new BBQ too. Nothing is terribly heavy but jobs like this just go much quicker when there is two people.

This was such a simple task before…..and it still is really….but it’s just one more thing that I have to do by myself now! I have to tell myself to “get over it……..just do it”!

L.

Leave a Reply

