Celebration of Life planning

Unfortunately this won’t happen until Friday May 9th, that’s almost 3 weeks after he died. A family wedding in Mexico had a lot of the family last week. I hope it was a good wedding…I’m so sorry we couldn’t go. Any trip to Mexico is a fun trip and adding a wedding into the mix can only make it better still…..ah sigh. Ken would have had a great time…..he loved the sun, the beach, lounging around the pool and walking in the sand.

The planning for this Celebration is another task that has been therapeutic. Pictures for slideshows, catering for the reception after, music. Wine….hmmmm, what wine would Ken have liked?

I decided Friday afternoon was good. 1PM….an early start to the weekend for those that come….Ken would have liked that. Not that a Celebration of Life is a good way to start a weekend or anything….but this WILL be a celebration. Ken would have wanted that….he enjoyed parties and having lots of people around. This WILL be a party! We are going to remember all the good times.

How many people will come? Maybe 50 or so…..but then maybe 150. I can’t believe all the phone calls….and cards….and flowers. Will all those people come. Family alone makes at least 20+, friends another 20 or 30. What about people from work….how many will come, 3 or maybe 30? My work collegues….3 or 10 or ?? What about people from the kids work…will some of them come too? Old friends that we haven’t seen for years…based on some phone calls, they will come too. What about the guy that does our grass….he was so very sorry and really enjoyed chatting with Ken, will he come? What if they all come, will the hall be big enough? Will we have enough food? What if they don’t all come…will we have too much food? I guess I can always use the leftovers as the food gifts are running low.

What picture should I put on the card that everyone gets as they come in? Hmmm…the one of him sitting in the Ferrari is a really good one……with “A 1950 Classic” written across it……yes, that’s it. What about inside the card….I had to pick a poem. That was hard. I tried to read through the list from the memorial place but that just made me cry every time I started. I didn’t want mushy stuff…Ken wouldn’t have wanted that. We’re not religious so those were out. I found one online by Anonymous, it’s really good but some words needed changing a bit…..I can do that because it’s by Anonymous, right?

A husband, a father, a grandpa too,
This is the legacy we have from you.
You taught us love and taught us right,
You gave us strength, you gave us might.
A stronger person would be hard to find,
And in your heart, you were always kind.
You fought for us all in one way or another,
Not just as a husband, not just as a father.
For all of us you gave your best,
Now the time has come for you to rest.
So go in peace, you’ve earned your sleep,
Your love in our hearts, we’ll eternally keep.

That’s it! Well, maybe just about it….can still use a bit of tweeking and I have time before we print it.

Did we want another picture on the inside too? I can’t remember if they do that….I don’t often keep the cards I get at funerals… But you know, I do have a really nice pic of him on the beach at sunset….that would be really appropriate wouldn’t it to put inside with the poem. So yes, we did another picture inside too. Who cares what others do…..we’ve never worried about that, so why would I worry about that now??

Music to go with the slideshows, what were his fav bands, singers, songs…..we need two DVD’s. The long one with a zillion pics (random pics, not in any order) that will play and just keep looping as everyone comes in and then again after during the reception. The short one that is in chronological order of his life….that will be played during/in the middle of the service itself. My brother or kids know how to do this….I’m techie challenged and really did’t feel up to trying to figure this out myself……but it’s done now too….Linds figured it all out last night and it is perfect…..(she was a little annoyed with me because we finished it at 4AM ). The first song is Old Days by Chicago, second is A Summer Place by the Letterman (the first dance song at our wedding….lots of tears over this one) and the last is You’re My Inspiration…also my Chicago.. He loved Chicago way back when and still did…just good timeless music. We managed to keep the short one under the suggested 10 minutes…9:07. I hope no one gets restless because they are great pics.

This is all good though….this has kept me busy. I am driving everyone helping me crazy because it has to be perfect, it just has to be. Although Ken wouldn’t have cared if it was perfect….but I care, it has to be for him. He deserves to be remembered for the kind, giving, fun loving, gentle person he was…I want people to remember him that way. It has to be perfect!

L.

Leave a Reply

